baseball, baseball cards

Redsfest 2010: Chuck Harmon

Without hesitation, I can say that meeting Chuck Harmon was the highlight of our 2010 Redsfest experience. He was one of the players in the backstage/lounge area reserved for those who purchased Hall of Fame Memberships.

For those not in the know, Mr. Harmon was the first African American player in Reds history, debuting in 1954. Many teams were slow to integrate even after Jackie Robinson broke the color barrier in 1947 with the Brooklyn Dodgers. This was the first opportunity I have had to meet Mr. Harmon, and I will treasure it the rest of my life.

Mr. Harmon is now confined to a wheelchair, and he had someone there with him (I’m assuming it was his son) to carry his things and push the chair. He talked to Joshua and I for several minutes, talking about Jackie Robinson and how Jackie was “a pretty good ballplayer.” As we were getting ready to leave, he told his son to get some cards out of his bag, then asked for a pen to sign one that he had not yet autographed. His son said, “You’re not supposed to do that back here.” Mr. Harmon took the cards and pen, looked straight at one of the workers, and said, “Let them sue me!”

He then signed the cards and handed them to my son and I. A truly nice man, and an experience that neither of us will soon forget! On his website, Mr. Harmon writes, “Most importantly, I would most like to be remembered simply as a good person.” There is no doubt in my mind that you are a good person, sir!

Visit Chuck Harmon’s website by clicking here.

4 thoughts on “Redsfest 2010: Chuck Harmon”

  1. I feel bad – I know who Chuck Harmon is, but if you had asked me the “first Red to break the color barrier” trivia question, I wouldn’t have known Chuck was the answer. That’s a great story, though!

  2. I agree he is a great guy with an outgoing personality.this was my third time meeting him.the girl with him is his daughter.Chuck loves to tell stories and meet his fans .

  3. Very nice story! I am very fortunate to have met Mr. Harmon myself. He is by far one of the nicest guys you’d ever want to meet. I have gotten to know him the past couple years, go to Reds games with him and talk baseball from time to time. I to am honored to have gotten to know him. Many of today’s players could take a leaf from his book and show their appreciation to the fans as he does. Mr. Harmon is truly one in a million!

This is where you talk...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.