Blog Archives

Bang Tango – Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt (2012)

Bang Tango's new CD Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt

Bang Tango
Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt
78 Productions, 2011
35 minutes

Joe Lesté has gathered together a new group of musicians under the moniker Bang Tango and delivers what might be the best album under that name to date. Scott LaFlamme (guitars) and Trent Anderson (drums) make their first appearance on a Bang Tango release, while Lance Eric previously played bass on 2006’s From The Hip.

The music on Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt is every bit as sleazy as Bang Tango’s first two albums, but with more than twenty years experience Lesté displays more maturity on vocals than ever before. The band has not abandoned the traditional themes of rock’n’roll, singing about adult entertainers and prom queens and the rebellious nature of doing everything “Our Way.” Neither has the band given up on the swagger of the late 1980s, still bringing it and laying it all out on the table.

No hard rock record would be complete without a ballad, and “Have You Seen Her?” fulfills that requirement on Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt. It is, in fact, one of the best songs on the album, along with “Our Way,” “Boom Box Seance,” and the title track. While there is nothing groundbreaking on the album, it is solid throughout and every song on the album has more strengths than weaknesses. The spoken word intro to “Live Life” could have been omitted with no harm to the final product, but the rest of the CD flows smoothly.

Watch the video for “I Like It” below:

1. D*** in the System
2. Suck It Up
3. Our Way
4. Bring On the World
5. Have You Seen Her?
6. Live Life
7. I Like It
8. Boom Box Seance
9. Drivin
10. Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt

Learn more about Bang Tango.

Purchase Bang Tango – Pistol Whipped in the Bible Belt…directly from the band!

%d bloggers like this: