Blog Archives

Kopecky Family Band – Kids Raising Kids (2013)

Kopecky Family Band

Kopecky Family Band
Kids Raising Kids
ATO Records, 2013
38 minutes

Indie rock with a dash of doo-wop and a sprinkle of surf guitar…sounds weird, but Kopecky Family Band makes it work. Don’t misunderstand—the other influences are barely noticeable when you listen to Kids Raising Kids, but they are present. This is no surprise, as the band members come from all over: Denver, South Carolina, North Carolina, Dallas/Ft. Worth, Minneapolis, and the Philippines. The band was formed when they all met in college, and the resulting album displays the beauty of all those influences meshed together.

The highlights of this album are “Heartbeat,” “She Is The One,” and “My Way,” which features an off-beat vocal arrangement. It catches the listener off-guard the first time, but gets better with each additional spin. Other songs are more mainstream indie, and it is evident the Kopecky Family Band was a good fit to co-headline a tour with The Lumineers last year (before they hit it big). Is this the year that KFB gets attention from commercial radio?

Watch the video for “Heartbeat” below:

1. Wandering Eyes
2. Heartbeat
3. My Way
4. Are You Listening
5. The Glow
6. Change
7. Hope
8. She Is The One
9. Waves
10. Angry Eyes
11. Ella

Learn more about Kopecky Family Band.

Learn more about ATO Records.

Purchase Kopecky Family Band – Kids Raising Kids.

%d bloggers like this: