Blog Archives

Defenders of the Faith – Special 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition by Judas Priest (2015)


Defenders of the Faith – Special 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
by Judas Priest
Legacy, 2015
3 discs, 144 minutes

Released in January 1984, Defenders of the Faith was an immediate success for Judas Priest. The album is strong from beginning to end, but does not contain a standout anthem like many of the heavy metal band’s prior albums. Nonetheless, Defenders of the Faith is still popular with hard rock fans, prompting the“Special 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” released two weeks ago.

The original album is remastered, but another remastered release was made available as recently as 2001. What makes this reissue significant is the inclusion of the group’s performance in Long Beach to promote the album. Recorded on May 5, 1984, at the Long Beach Arena, the concert is twenty-one songs over two discs, and contains every song from the studio release except “Eat Me Alive” along with some of Judas Priest’s most memorable songs from other records such as British Steel and Screaming For Vengeance.

The band fires on all cylinders during the concert; Rob Halford is in top form while the dual guitar attack of K.K. Downing and Glenn Tipton sounds fantastic. Having seen the band live (although not during this classic era), I can attest that they sound fantastic and this is a genuine performance. Fans who already own the original Defenders of the Faith release from 1984, or the remastered reissue from 2001, the “Special 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” is well worth the purchase price to add this live performance to their collections.

Disc 1 Disc 2 Disc 3
1. Freewheel Burning
2. Jawbreaker
3. Rock Hard Ride Free
4. The Sentinel
5. Love Bites
6. Eat Me Alive
7. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
8. Night Comes Down
9. Heavy Duty
10. Defenders Of The Faith
1. Love Bites
2. Jawbreaker
3. Grinder
4. Metal Gods
5. Breaking The Law
6. Sinner
7. Desert Plains
8. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
9. The Sentinel
10. Rock Hard Ride Free
1. Night Comes Down
2. The Hellion
3. Electric Eye
4. Heavy Duty
5. Defenders Of The Faith
6. Freewheel Burning
7. Victim Of Changes
8. The Green Manalishi
9. Living After Midnight
10. Hell Bent For Leather
11. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming

Learn more about Judas Priest.

Learn more about Legacy.

Purchase Judas Priest – Defenders Of The Faith 30th Anniversary Edition.

%d bloggers like this: