Goodbye, Jimmy Beaumont

(October 21, 1940 – October 8, 2017)

Jimmy Beaumont was lead vocalist for Pittsburgh doo-wop group The Skyliners, whose biggest his was 1959’s “Since I Don’t Have You.” The song has been covered by numerous acts such as The Four Seasons, Guns N’ Roses, Brian Setzer, and Art Garfunkel. Other songs by The Skyliners include “It Happened Today,” “This I Swear,” and “Pennies From Heaven.” Beaumont is the fourth of the original lineup of The Skyliners to pass.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on October 9, 2017, in goodbye, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oddly enough, I became familiar with “Since I Don’t Have You” through Peter Weller’s brief performance of it in “The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension”. However one gets there, I got there and that’s what matters, I suppose.

    • My first exposure was on an Oldies cassette tape (remember those things) in the late 80s/early 90s. It blew me away when GNR covered it.

Leave a Reply

