Fun Cards: 1976 Topps Tom Petty

Tom Petty

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakersself-titled debut was released in November, 1976, by Shelter Records. The first single, “Breakdown,” was a Top 40 hit, and has been covered in the studio by Grace Jones and Suzi Quatro, and by numerous artists in concert, including the Replacements and Foo Fighters. The band then released “American Girl,” which unbelievably did not chart in the United States until it was re-released in 1994. The song was used in several films, including FM, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, and The Silence of the Lambs.

Hungry for more Tom Petty? Check out Greg’s tribute at Night Owl Cards, matching baseball cards to the songs from Petty’s 1994 release, Wildflowers (one of my favorite Petty albums).

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on October 4, 2017, in baseball, baseball cards, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice card, Tom Petty has always been one of my favorites. I saw him more than once in the 80s, yes I’m old. This year his tour came to Cincinnati and my wife bought me tickets for my birthday. I took my son for his first concert, telling him this may be his only chance to see him. I thought it would be due to age/retirement, how sad. It was every bit as good as previous shows.

Leave a Reply

