There’s been an awakening. Have you felt it?

Don’t you just love it when old friends come home?

On July 31, 2015, Jim (better known as GCRL to many in the baseball card blogging community) made his final post on the Garvey Cey Russell Lopes blog. He had been an active blogger since September, 2008, and was a great trading partner. He continued trading after his blog went silent, but his wit has certainly been missed.

But not for much longer…

FrankenDodger

Mr. GCRL is returning in May with a brand new blog called FrankenDodger. I’m no Dodger fan, but I am a GCRL fan, so I will be following the new blog, and I can’t wait for the first official post.

To hold me over, Jim sent some Reds cards my way. A brand new card of the dearly departed Todd Frazier

Fraz

Some sticky non-cards of a former Red (Aroldis Chapman) and a maybe-soon-to-be-former Red (Jay Bruce)…

Topps stickers

A 19-year old card of Jeff Brantley, one of the Reds’ current announcers that I can’t stand to hear…

Brantley

Now, some of you young whipper snappers may not think getting a 19-year old card is all that special. But consider this: I started collecting in 1985. To get a 19-year old card then—a 1966 card—would have been something pretty spectacular. To get a 27-year old card would have been nearly unthinkable. I mean, 1958? That’s what dreams were made of…

Jim helped make my dreams come true, many years later. That’s not just a 27-year old card, man. That’s a 58-year old card, man! This Johnny Temple All-Star is my very first 1958 Topps Reds card. It’s not the oldest card in my collection, but it’s older than me!

I’m very happy to have these cards (and stickers) in my collection. I still haven’t had time to update the wantlists, but I will soon. Thanks Jim!

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on April 23, 2016, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

