I said I wasn’t going to buy any 2016 Topps packs

But I’m a weak, weak man.

2016 Topps

At least I turned my weakness into a nice little game with the family. Our first pack wars of 2016 commenced after Bible study tonight as we sat around the kitchen table. Each of us took two packs, picked two teams, two players, and three card numbers. If you pull a card on your list, you get three points. If someone else pulls a card on your list, you get one point. Inserts also counted for three points apiece. After the first round of two packs, the top two scorers opened the last two packs in the box.

Here are some of my favorite cards from the box, starting with the Reds second baseman (who they desperately tried to unload this offseason) and right fielder (who was also mentioned in trade rumors), Brandon Phillips and Jay Bruce

BP

Bruuuuuuuce

I’m not overly impressed with the cards, as I have mentioned elsewhere, and the backs are boring. But I thought the fact on the back of Bruce’s card was somewhat interesting:

Bruuuuuuce

I don’t think Jay will be joining Johnny Bench, Frank Robinson, or Tony Perez in Cooperstown.

I also got a Reds insert, which is super duper cool…

ONeill

I don’t remember Paul O’Neill pitching, but sure enough…

ONeill

Those are the only Reds cards I pulled, and that’s why it’s the only box I’ll be buying. It’s tough being a team collector who loves opening packs. The value just isn’t there at all. But I did pull several other cards that I liked, including a couple of Salvador Perez cards, an Anthony Rizzo/Kris Bryant insert, Warren Spahn, Babe Ruth, Andre Dawson, Randy Johnson, Josh Donaldson, and Giancarlo Stanton.

Perez

Perez

Rizzo Bryant

Spahn

Ruth

Dawson

Johnson

Donaldson

Stanton

And the “MLB Debut Medallion” that I pulled was Joe Mauer. I’m not a non-fan of Mauer, so I’m not entirely disappointed with this pull, and since there are no Reds on the checklist in series 1, I could have done a lot worse. That said, if anyone has a Reds manurelic from an older set, or if you want to make another offer for the Mauer coin, shoot me an e-mail.

Mauer

I plan to send out some of the other cards that I don’t want to keep to team collectors, so if you’re not already on my PWE list, send me an e-mail with your name, address, and what team you collect. If you want to reciprocate with some Reds, that would be great, but not necessary. What goes around comes around eventually in the baseball card blogosphere.

Oh, and if you’re wondering who won our pack war, it wasn’t me…

pack wars

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on February 3, 2016, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m guessing/hoping that the write-up on the back of the World Series card is about Salvador Perez, because it’s a bit ludicrous to show a picture of 30 guys and declare it to be a card of Salvador Perez.

    • It shows the linescore, then reads: “Perez drove in the tying run in the ninth inning, and then singled to begin the game-winning rally in the 12th as the Royals closed out the Mets. The unanimous World Series MVP batted .364 overall to become the first catcher to win the award since 1992.”

Leave a Reply

