Fun Cards: 1967 Topps David Bowie

David Bowie

I realize I have not been the most consistent blogger lately. This past week I’ve been suffering from a severe toothache, and I never would have expected something like that to completely knock me out. I’m scheduled to have a root canal next week, and in the meantime am taking some antibiotics and pain medication (that doesn’t really seem to help very much because the pain is still quite severe). Prior to that, I was busy writing a short story (which you can read at this link), and the rest of this week I need to finish up some work on a couple of sermons and a Bible class.

That doesn’t leave much time for blogging, but I decided to take a quick stab at a 1967 Topps David Bowie “fun card.” Bowie’s career spanned several decades and touched many genres of music, and it all started in 1967 with a self-titled release on Deram Records. Not really representative of his most popular styles, but is anything Bowie released really representative of the rest of his catalog? The man changed so often, but always excelled at what he did.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on January 14, 2016, in baseball cards, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very awesome card. 🙂

  2. A couple of weeks ago I ran across a Rolling Stone list of “20 Terrible Debut Albums By Great Artists”, and David Bowie was the first one listed.
    http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/20-terrible-debut-albums-by-great-artists-20151118

    I’d heard that Bowie’s first album was different from the rest of the career, but I’m not sure that anything could have prepared me for *that*.

  3. …”that” meaning “Love You Till Tuesday”. Sheesh, Joe, finish your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

