Concert review: The Cringe, Alice Cooper, and Mötley Crüe (August 20, 2015 @ Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis, IN)

My 16-year old son Joshua and I traveled to Indianapolis Thursday night to take in Alice Cooper and Mötley Crüe on the latter’s “All Bad Things Must Come To An End: The Final Tour” at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. I have seen both acts before, so I had an idea what to expect going in, and for the most part I was not disappointed.

Opening the show was a Manhattan-based band called The Cringe. The band is comprised of John Cusimano (who is married to TV cooking show host Rachel Ray), James Rotondi, Johnny Blaze, and Shawn Pelton. They opened their set with a catchy tune called “Anything You Say” from their forthcoming release Blind Spot, available in October. They have four other albums available now: Hiding in Plain Sight (2012), Play Thing (2010), Tipping Point (2007), and Scratch the Surface (2005). The Cringe also performed covers of Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid” and Thin Lizzy’s “Jailbreak.” A very good set to open the show that encouraged me to search out more about the band once I came home.

The Cringe will be playing with Alice Cooper and Mötley Crüe through September 6 in San Antonio. Click here to see a full list of The Cringe’s future dates.

Alice Cooper

I have seen Alice Cooper twice before, and Joshua attended one of those concerts with me. As expected, the classic shock rocker put on a spectacular show. Playing several classic songs from the 1970s through the 1990s, Cooper and his band rocked the Indianapolis crowd into a frenzy for the headliners. A very good video of the Philadelphia show with the same setlist can be seen here (part 1) and here (part 2).

The highlights of the show included “Feed My Frankenstein” and “Killer,” which led to the beheading of the singer and the song “I Love the Dead.” As an opening act, he had a shorter set than the last time we saw him, but still put on a wicked theatrical performance complete with the Frankenstein monster prancing around the stage and the guillotine.

Setlist for Alice Cooper at Bankers Life Fieldhouse, August 20, 2015:
1. The Black Widow
2. No More Mr. Nice Guy
3. Under My Wheels
4. I’m Eighteen
5. Billion Dollar Babies
6. Poison
7. Dirty Diamonds
8. Go to H***
9. Feed My Frankenstein
10. Ballad of Dwight Fry
11. Killer
12Love the Dead
13.School’s Out (medley with Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall)

Alice Cooper’s band is currently made up of Cooper as the lead singer, Ryan Roxie, Tommy Henriksen, and Nita Strauss on guitars, Chuck Garric on bass, and Glen Sobel on drums.

Purchase music by Alice Cooper.

Motley Crue

The headliner, of course, was Mötley Crüe, on what is being billed as the band’s final tour. Excuse me if I don’t entirely believe that, but time will tell. All of the band members have other projects in the works, such as Nikki’s Sixx:A.M. with James Michael and DJ Ashba, but it’s not difficult to envision a reunion five to ten years from now when the money made from this tour starts to dry up.

Thursday’s performance was not too disappointing to me, although if it had been my first experience with Mötley Crüe it may have been. Mick Mars, Nikki Sixx, and Tommy Lee all sounded great, and have every time I’ve seen them before. But Vince Neil was awful, and always has been in concert (at least since 1998, which was my first Mötley Crüe concert). He either forgets the lyrics or just doesn’t have the stamina to sing them all. He was backed on this tour by a couple of female singers to fill in some of the gaps, but there were still several missed lines throughout the night.

I have to admit a bit of disappointment in Vince’s incessant use of curse words as well. Before you object and say, “It’s a rock and roll show, of course he cusses,” let me remind you that Alice Cooper does not drop the f-bomb every third word in his show. I’ve been to a lot of shows, and it always bothers me to hear a continual stream of profanity from the bands. There is no need for it, and it detracts from an otherwise enjoyable night.

Then there was the song, “MF of the Year.” Am I alone in wishing this song was dropped in favor of “Too Fast For Love” or “Too Young To Fall in Love”? Even “Afraid” would have been a better choice in my opinion. And that’s all this is, my opinion, and I realize others may disagree but I’m tired of the foul language.

Back to the good parts of the show…four songs from Dr. Feelgood, personally my favorite Mötley Crüe record, were performed. The drum rollercoaster was fun to watch; Tommy Lee playing upside-down was a trip. The band highlighted songs from their entire career (except Mötley Crüe and Generation Swine) starting with “Girls Girls Girls” and finishing up with “Home Sweet Home” in the middle of the arena.

All in all, a great night, and one I will not forget anytime soon. I’m very glad I decided to catch the tour, just in case it truly is the last.

Setlist for Mötley Crüe at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, August 20, 2015:

1. Girls, Girls, Girls
2. Wild Side
3. Primal Scream
4. Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)
5. Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
6. Smokin’ in the Boys’ Room
7. Looks That Kill
8. MF of the Year
9. Anarchy in the U.K.
10. In The Beginning/Shout at the Devil
11. Louder Than H***
12. Saints of Los Angeles
13. Live Wire
14. T.N.T. (Terror ‘N Tinseltown)/Dr. Feelgood
15. Kickstart My Heart
16. (encore) Home Sweet Home

“All Bad Things Must Come To An End: The Final Tour” is supposed to wrap up December 31 in Los Angeles. Click here to see a full list of dates, and make plans to see Mötley Crüe one last time.

Purchase music by Mötley Crüe.

Learn more about Bankers Life Fieldhouse.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on August 21, 2015, in music, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

