I’ve been a little busy lately

I have just taken a new part-time job, which is a very good thing. I will still have time to read and draw and obsess over baseball cards and hair metal, but will be doing so to a lesser extent because of my new position. So the posts may be a little less frequent here.

I do have some book reviews on the horizon, The Making of Major League, 27, Tony Oliva, and The League of Regrettable Superheroes among them. And I still have several “fun cards” to post, as well as original sketches, like the one below.

Rick Vaughn

Rick “Wild Thing” Vaughn, star pitcher for the 1988 alternative reality Cleveland Indians in the Major League universe. This is the first non-Reds card I’ve drawn in several years, and I think the first fictional baseball player I have ever attempted. I’m kind of stuck on 1938 Goudey right now.

Major League is definitely one of my favorite baseball movies, along with The Bingo Long Traveling All-Stars and Motor Kings, Field of Dreams, 42, and Eight Men Out. I need to watch Bull Durham again, because I didn’t like it the first time I watched it over twenty years ago and have not seen it since.

What are some other baseball movies I should watch when I have the time?

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on June 24, 2015, in baseball, baseball cards, movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

