Chuck: Original Television Soundtrack by Tim Jones and Jeffster (2015)

Chuck Soundtrack

Chuck: Original Television Soundtrack
by Tim Jones and Jeffster
Varèse Sarabande, 2015
77 minutes (CD), 19 minutes (digital bonus tracks)

One of the best television series in recent memory, Chuck made a lasting impression on legions of fans. Now, three years removed from the last episode, an official soundtrack has at long last been released. Tim Jones’ stellar compositions can now be enjoyed by Chuck fans separate from the show, as well as a handful of Jeffster cover songs (“Take On Me,” “Fortunate Son,” “Fat Bottom Girls,” “Leaving on a Jet Plane,” and “Mr. Roboto”). Jones revisits familiar musical themes frequently throughout the score, adapting those themes to various styles. “It’s All Not Work” has an epic, superhero-type feeling to it, while “Mission Time” might bring to mind the popular 1980s television show Miami Vice. “Action Theme” is a fun romp in which the listener can imagine Chuck, Sarah and Casey battling the baddies in the Ring, while “Charlie Foxtrot Shaw” contains the haunting mood music of the enemy.

The only real complaint one might have is the lack of separation between tracks. While the compact disc contains sixteen separate tracks, there are many more songs featured. As an example, “It’s Not All Work” runs nearly ten minutes but is made up of several shorter compositions and could have been divided up into more tracks. Yes, that would have made the tracklisting longer, but it would also be easier to find your favorite pieces. The evil Shaw theme in “Charlie Foxtrot Shaw” does not begin until just over the one-minute mark, after two shorter themes.

There is also the absence of the opening theme, a portion of Cake’s “Short Skirt/Long Jacket,” but this omission is very minor in the grand scheme of things. Tim Jones and Jeffster are the true stars here, and their talents are on full display. Jeffster, the cover band featured Jeff Barnes (Scott Krinsky) and Lester Patel (Vik Sahay), shows off three songs on the CD and two among the digital-only bonus tracks.

I miss Chuck, and I was ecstatic to learn that this soundtrack was being released. Chucksters all over the world should show their appreciation for Tim Jones’ talents by purchasing this excellent compilation of songs from the series.

CD tracklist:
1. Bryce Larkin Super Spy
2. Chuck And Sarah The Beginning
3. Action Theme
4. Charlie Foxtrot Shaw
5. A Question And A Spy
6. Ellie Rescues Chuck
7. It’s Not All Work
8. Mission Time
9. All In A Day’s Work (For Sarah)
10. Backstories And Secrets
11. Tangos And Hot Dogs
12. Buy Morons vs. Emmet
13. Take On Me (Jeffster)
14. Fortunate Son (Jeffster)
15. Fat Bottom Girls (Jeffster)
16. End Titles + Surprise

Digital release bonus tracks:
1. Leaving on a Jet Plane (Jeffster)
2. Mr. Roboto (Jeffster)
3. Morgan Big Mike and the Gang
4. Chuck vs. Rafe

Learn more about Varèse Sarabande.

Learn more about Tim Jones.

Purchase Chuck: Original Television Soundtrack by Tim Jones and Jeffster.


About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on May 4, 2015, in music, reviews, television and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

This is where you talk...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: