Fun Cards: 1978 Topps “Rookie Rockers” Van Halen

The Night Owl raved last night about music trading cards. And he showed off some cards he received from a reader, some from the early 1990s and some from the late 1970s. I have a few music cards in my collection as well, but I don’t believe I own any of the early 1990s “Rock Cards” that Night Owl flaunted. While the card designs (if you want to call them designs) aren’t attractive, the subjects are perfect for headbangers. From Slaughter to Poison to Skid Row…I would have loved these cards back in the day.

Forget “back in the day.” I would love these cards today. Though I would hope they could hire a better graphic designer.

But what I would love even more is for Topps to do something like this…

1978 VAN HALEN

Van Halen’s first album was released in 1978, so I put the foursome’s mugshots on a 1978 Topps rookie card. This is the kind of set I would like to see, and maybe Topps can make it happen. Maybe they can sign some of my hair metal favorites to contracts and produces an Archives-style music trading card set. Members of Mötley Crüe on 1982-style cards, KISS on a 1974-style cards (like this), Winger on 1988-style cards. That’s a set I would collect.

How about it Topps?

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on April 22, 2015, in baseball cards, music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Gotta Love Van Halen! Van Hagar isnt bad either. Van Halen 2015 needs to hang it up or re-recruit Sammy and Michael Anthony. Nothing against Wolfgang, although talented, he got his gig because he was sperm lucky!

Leave a Reply

