I love getting mail

I received a couple of packages this week from fellow baseball card bloggers, which is always a nice surprise when you don’t know it’s coming.

The first came from 2 by 3 Heroes, one of several White Sox collectors in the blogosphere. Most of my ChiSox go to another guy, but every once in a while I’ll send a few Jeff’s way. He reciprocated by sending me a massive amount of 2014 Panini Golden Age cards. By massive amount, I mean over 100. A handful of my favorites…

golden1

That is Harry Wright (one of the original Red Stockings of 1869), Frank Robinson (who never should have left the Reds), Vada Pinson (one of those “on-the-bubble” guys for the Hall of Fame), Butch Patrick (Eddie Munster from The Munsters), and Catherine Bach (Daisy Duke of The Dukes of Hazzard fame).

A nice set, featuring not only sports stars but also entertainers and historical figures from America’s past. This is a set that I would never buy a pack of because of the wide range of subjects, but am more than happy to add these cards (and several others in the stack) to my personal collection.

The next package came from fellow Reds fan Matt of Red Cardboard fame. The generosity of Reds fans never ceases to amaze me, and the cards from Matt were quite awesome. Lots of parallels, shiny goodness, and inserts of current and former Reds like Drew Stubbs, Travis Wood, and Johnny Bench

redsstubbs

There were several other drool-worthy (to Reds fans) cards in the envelope. My favorite card in the package, however, was not a parallel nor an insert, nor was it the least bit shiny.

berenyiautograph

That Bruce Berenyi autograph is the seventeenth autographed 1984 Topps (including Traded) Reds card in my collection. If you count the leaders cards and the Bench retirement card, that leaves me with only sixteen unsigned Reds cards. I realize I will never get the Bench signed, and will likely never obtain Tony Perez or Dave Concepcion‘s signatures, but I’m not going to let that stop me from trying to get the rest of them signed. And those 1984 Topps cards sure look pretty with the players’ scribbles on them.

Thank you Jeff and Matt for the cards! I will be sure to continue sending some your way as well.

Anyone else who is reading that is not already on my “PWE” list, send me an e-mail with your name and address and what team(s) you collect. Every once in a while I rid myself of cards that I don’t want, and you could be on the receiving end!

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on April 3, 2015, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

