2015 Reds, 1990 Score style: Billy Hamilton (Young Superstars)

010 Billy Hamilton YOUNG SUPERSTARa

Arguably the most exciting player to watch on the basepaths in the majors, Billy Hamilton is the Young Superstar in center field for the Cincinnati Reds. The early favorite to win the Rookie of the Year award in 2014, Hamilton faded after the All-Star break and Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom overtook him, but the speedster stole the hearts of a lot of fans in the Queen City.

010 Billy Hamilton YOUNG SUPERSTARb

The glossy “Young Superstars” set from Score, if I recall correctly, was offered to baseball card collectors through the mail. I decided to create a front and back for this card so I could show off that sweet All-Star Game patch on Hamilton’s sleeve on the back. The midsummer classic is coming to Cincinnati for the first time since 1988.

I doubt I will go because of finances, but you better believe I’ll be entering nearly every contest hosted by local businesses for tickets. I’d love to see the game, but would settle for at least the Home Run Derby. I attended the Home Run Derby in 1988, but it was rained out. If I still had the ticket stub, I would try to exchange it for this year’s event.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on March 14, 2015, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

