JT’s Ultimate Mixtape: Aerosmith edition

JTs Ultimate Mixtape Aerosmith edition

One of the greatest bands in the history of American rock and roll, Aerosmith is a name synonymous with classic rock. The group’s early catalog is vastly superior to the material they have produced in the last twenty years, but there are a few recent gems as well. Since the best band from Boston is coming to Cincinnati this Tuesday, I thought it only fitting to give them the “JT’s Ultimate Mixtape” treatment. If you’re not familiar with “JT’s Ultimate Mixtape,” there are a few rules:

  • Every studio album must be represented by one and only one song.
  • That song does not have to be an official “single” released by the band to promote said album.
  • Compilation albums can be included, but only songs that are new, previously unreleased, or remixes of songs from prior albums are eligible for the list.
  • As for live albums, well, I’ve changed my mind a bit over time. I used to say they were a waste of time, but when a band has several strong songs on one album, sometimes a live album is the only way to sneak more than one of them on the Ultimate Mixtape tracklist.

So let’s do this…

JT’s Ultimate Mistape: Aerosmith edition

Of course, every decent compilation needs a bonus disc. Aerosmith has been included on a number of movie soundtracks, while Joe Perry and Steven Tyler have several side projects and guest spots on other artists’ releases. Here are some of the more notable…

Bonus Tracks

Wow, that’s a lot of material there, both in the official release category and the “bonus tracks.” Did I miss anything important? What songs would you replace in your own Ultimate Mixtape?

Check out prior editions of “JT’s Ultimate Mixtape”:

Who should be next?

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on July 20, 2014, in music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aerosmith is one of those bands that I picked up from my older brother, and for the longest time the only Aerosmith I actually owned was the “Come Together / Kings And Queens” 45 I got in 1978. I’ve since made up for that by getting the CD’s of “Rocks”, “Toys In The Attic” and “Bootleg”… and I once owned a copy of “Honkin’ On Bobo”, but that was such a huge disappointment that I ended up selling it (or maybe giving it to Goodwill, I don’t remember).

    …The point of which is that I only feel qualified to speak about 1970’s Aerosmith, and I’ve no real quarrel with any of your choices, but if it were MY mixtape, I’d make these two changes:

    From the first album, I’d give “Mama Kin” a ever-so-slight edge over “Dream On”… I know it’s heresy to leave out “Dream On”, but that’s the way it goes.

    From “Live! Bootleg”, I’d go with “I Ain’t Got You”. This song is everything I’d hoped “Bobo” would be… and everything “Bobo” was not.

    • Joe Perry’s 1970s riffs along with Slash from AFD inspired me to get my first guitar at age 16. The riffs were so meaty back then, and not too slick and overproduced. They sounded like a real rock band, not a corporate creation. That started changing in the 1980s, though I still loved Permanent Vacation and Pump. Pandora’s Box was my first major purchase as a teenager.

      The 1990s saw the band change. Much more commercial, much more palatable to MTV audiences with the “Crymazy” trilogy. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. Bands change over time.The band today barely resembles that of the 70s, but there is just enough grit left to still hear that classic sound.

      I’m not as crazy about the band as I once was, but they are still an American institution, and I hope they continue putting out new music for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

