Too big for a binder: oddballs and customs

In the December 1986 issue of Baseball Cards Magazine, six repli-cards were printed for collectors. There were 1981 Donruss “proof” cards of Reggie Jackson and George Brett, 1951 Topps cards of Wally Joyner and Don Mattingly, and 1951 Topps All-Star cards of Wade Boggs and Dwight Gooden. The problem is with the 1951 Topps All-Star cards. They are roughly the same size as those Donruss “pop-up” All-Star cards of the mid-1980s.

Boggs All-Star

Next is an advertisement for a Babe Ruth portrait painted by Dick Perez. There is no date on the ad, and no website, so I’m guessing that this is early to mid-1990s. I’m a huge fan of Perez and his work on the Diamond Kings subset from 1982-1991 (I don’t recall if he also painted 1992; I didn’t buy many cards that year). However, this is probably my least favorite work from Perez.

Bambino painting

Finally, at some point in the late 1990s/early 2000s, I was started to get back into baseball and collecting autographs through the mail. I didn’t have a lot of current cards at my disposal yet, so I made some on my own. I wanted Todd Hundley‘s autograph, so I sent him the below “card” and a blank index card. He returned the index card with his autograph, but the homemade card was unsigned. Sure, I only have myself to blame for the odd size of this “card,” and it frustrates me that I didn’t have the foresight to make it the standard 2.5 x 3.5.

Hundley Wrigley Field

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on January 11, 2014, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t get why Hundley wouldn’t sign your card.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

