My first 2013 Topps card

I haven’t bought a pack of 2013 Topps yet, and probably won’t (unless my willpower goes kaput all of a sudden). Since I collect almost only Reds cards now, buying packs and blasters just doesn’t make financial sense to me. I would rather spend $3-5 for the team set on eBay than $20 for packs, of which I might find 3 or 4 cards that I like (including non-Reds).

Thanks to awesome bloggers like Crackin Wax, I am still able to obtain new cards without buying new packs. If you go to his site and click on “Take My Cards” across the top, you will be directed to a password-protected page of cards that he is giving away for free…all you have to do is provide a SASE!

When he posted his list of 2013 Topps cards, I knew I had to jump on all the Reds I could find…unfortunately most of them were already claimed. But I did come away with one, and it arrived in the mail today…

2013 Topps Cingrani

Tony Cingrani appeared in 3 games, pitching 5 innings for the Reds late in the season. He was a third-round draft pick in 2011, and was actually featured on this blog that year as a part of the 2011 Reds (’92 Style) fun cards.

It’s great to finally have a 2013 Topps card in-hand. And it’s great to know how far away Cingrani is from Nolan Ryan‘s strikeout record. *smh*

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on February 16, 2013, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

