1955 Ted Kluszewski postcard

I didn’t have a lot of information about the 1954-55 Reds Postcards when I listed them on my 1950s Reds Checklist. But I’m glad I didn’t remove that listing due to my own personal ignorance of them. A reader in Missouri happened to surf here, and sent me an e-mail that she had the “Ted Kluszewski/stretching at first” postcard, and wondered if I would be interested in it. She wanted someone to enjoy having it.

Klu postcard

She told me that it was not in the best shape, but I look at this card and see that it was loved by its previous owner. And when I flipped it over, I saw something even cooler:

Klu postcard with 1955 postmark

This isn’t your standard store-bought team-issued postcard…it was actually mailed to someone in 1955! I imagine the person wrote to the team and requested it, and they sent this card as a reward. There is no writing underneath the Reds’ return address, only the name (obscured for privacy purposes) and the postmarked stamp on the right side. As you know, I always enjoy getting mail from baseball teams, and I’m glad to see that it is a hobby that others have enjoyed in past generations.

This card has already found a special place in my collection. I am thrilled to have it.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice lady. Dig the 2 cent stamp. I love the simplicity of the return address.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

