The Sun Came Out (2012)

The Sun Came Out documentary DVD

The Sun Came Out:
The Making of 7 Worlds Collide

Cinema Libre Studio, 2012
84 minutes + extras

To raise money for the charity Oxfam, Neil Finn of Crowded House gathered together a group of musician friends and played a series of concerts in 2001. Seven years later, he decided to repeat the effort and add to it, resulting in a double album written and recorded in just three weeks for the charity. Among those participating in the first series of concerts included Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam, Johnny Marr of the Smiths, and Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway of Radiohead. The more recent performances also included KT Tunstall and several members of Wilco, including Jeff Tweedy.

The main feature on this DVD is a documentary of the making of the album and clips from the latter series of concerts. While an interesting behind-the-scenes look at the writing and recording process, the documentary really takes a backseat to the bonus material: a re-release of the 2002 DVD, 7 Worlds Collide – Live At The St. James, featuring twenty-six performances from the 2001 concerts. See the tracklist below for the songs included.

1. Fall At Your Feet
2. Anytime
3. Hole In The Ice
4. Paper Doll
5. The Climber
6. Take A Walk
7. Last To Know
8. Down The Corner
9. There’s A Light That Never Goes Out
10. Private Universe
11. Parting Way
12. Driving Me Mad
13. Turn And Run
14. Loose Tongue
15. She Will Have Her Way
16. Angels Heap
17. Edible Flowers
18. Stuff And Nonsense
19. Four Seasons In One Day
20. Suffer Never
21. Cry Wolf
22. History Never Repeats
23. I See Red
24. Paradise (Wherever You Are)
25. Weather With You
26. Don’t Dream It’s Over

Vedder’s live performances are particularly powerful, but Neil Finn is the star of the show in both the documentary and the concert. The vision he had to bring all of these creative people together is commendable, and one can only hope that these collaborations will not stop anytime soon.

Fans of Crowded House, Wilco, KT Tunstall, and Eddie Veddar would do well to add this DVD to their music collection.

Watch the trailer for The Sun Came Out: The Making of the Album 7 Worlds Collide:

Learn more about Cinema Libre Studio.

Purchase The Sun Came Out: The Making of the Album 7 Worlds Collide.

About JT

Christian. Husband. Dad. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in movies, music, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

This is where you talk...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: