Topps All-Star Rookies

I’ve decided to go after the Topps All-Star Rookie subset in 2011. It’s a throwback to my formative years in collecting…I collected the ASRs every year from 1987 through at least 1990…maybe 1991 too. I can’t remember. That was a long time ago.

According to bdj610’s Topps Baseball Card Blog (an excellent resource), the 2011 team is:

1B: Gaby Sanchez, Florida Marlins
2B: Neil Walker, Pittsburgh Pirates
3B: Danny Valencia, Minnesota Twins
SS: Starlin Castro, Chicago Cubs
OF: Austin Jackson, Detroit Tigers
OF: Mike Stanton, Florida Marlins
OF: Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves
C: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
RHP: Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals
LHP: Jaime Garcia, St. Louis Cardinals
RP: Neftali Feliz, Texas Rangers

It seems that Topps is giving each of these players two cards in the 2011 set. I have the Strasburg ASR, but have seen other bloggers post scans of a cupless Stephen. In the blaster I opened last week, I pulled a Neil Walker ASR. Tonight in a loosie, I pulled a cupless Pirate. I also got a cupless Gaby Sanchez tonight.

I only want the gold cups. Here is the list of the cups that I’ve been able to locate so far. Only five of them. Am I missing any from Series 1? If this is all there is…I already got ’em all (either in-hand or in the mail). That wasn’t very difficult, now was it?

24 Neil Walker
59 Gaby Sanchez
135 Mike Stanton
183 Stephen Strasburg
198 Buster Posey

When is Series 2 scheduled for release?

Also, I’ve updated my trade list with the cards (and inserts) from the loose packs I picked up tonight.

About JT

Preacher. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

