From the Motherland…

John of The Pursuit of 80’s(ness) recently sent over a package for my boys and I, full of goodies that I’m sure the kids will love to tear into. First, of course, there were several Reds cards, many of which were missing from the collection, including…

A two-sport megastar…

A 2010 Hall of Famer (fingers crossed)…

A shoo-in Hall of Famer five years after his retirement (no finger crossing needed)…

A low-key superstar overshadowed by his Cardinals counterpart…

Also included in the package were several packs of “English” stickers and cards. I’m interested to see these, but I am waiting for the boys to get home to let them tear into them. It might make for an interesting episode of “Derek America.” Among the packs were…


The boys have really gotten into playing soccer this past year, so opening those should be a blast for them. Even though we don’t watch soccer on the tele (as the British might say, or might not, I don’t know), I’m sure they’ll like seeing what their future might hold if they stick with the sport. Although I will have to explain the difference between English football and American football.

But of course, being kids, they also love cartoons. And one of their favorites is “Ben 10.” I’ll admit it, I’ve watched a few dozen episodes (probably every single one made), and it’s a good show. So I’m sure the boys will absolutely love this pack…

Thanks John, and your cards will be on their way shortly.

About JT

Preacher. Author. 911 dispatcher. Baseball fan. Horror nut. Music nerd. Bookworm. Time Magazine's 2006 Person of the Year.

Posted on July 3, 2009, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

