Too big for a binder: autographed index cards

In addition to eight standard baseball cards of Greg Maddux that I had autographed through the mail around 1990 are these two index cards featuring Mad Dog’s stickers from some late 80s sticker sets.

Maddux autograph

Maddux sticker autograph

Same goes for Will Clark, though his sticker is bigger since he was a bigger star at the time.

Will the Thrill autograph

I am pretty sure this is Chipper Jones, but there is no picture to go along with the signature. I Googled his autograph and this looks pretty close. I assume I sent this to the minor league club Jones was with at the time; however, I actually have no recollection of obtaining this autograph.

Chipper autograph

This one is the biggie, and one that I forgot I had until I was sorting my “too big for a binder” items a few nights ago: Bob Feller autographed index card, with a Fleer (?) sticker of the Indians mascot.

Feller autograph

Seeing this card again really makes me want to visit the Bob Feller Museum in Van Meter, Iowa. It’s way out of the way of anything else, but I believe it might be worth the trip anyway.

I’m not sure how to store all of these things. At the moment, they are snug in a 500-count box, and I suppose that is where they will stay until I think of a better solution.

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on January 13, 2014, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. funny–I was just going through mine—I have mine in one of those index card sized holders with tabbed dividers–not the best way to display or look at them–and like you, have some under a letter but don’t know who it is

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 451 other followers

