Cards from the Night Owl

I received an envelope today in the mail; but it was not filled with bills. My name was hand-written on the envelope, and when I looked at the return address I knew I would be thrilled with the contents inside. I received Reds cards from the Dodger fan Night Owl, and that’s always a treat…

First we have Bronson Arroyo, who promised in December 2011 to retired if he had another dismal campaign like that year. He has certainly improved, but I doubt we will see him in a Cincinnati uniform next season. Perhaps he’ll end up wearing orange and blue?

Next is outfielder Jay Bruce, a spectacular player, currently 3rd in the NL in home runs and tied for 5th in RBI. I’m glad he is singed long-term.

Fireballer Aroldis Chapman was the next to fall out of the package. I liked last year’s Triple Play cards, but this year is a bit…meh. I’m not impressed.

The pièce de résistance, however, was a 24-year old card…

1989 Bowman Paul O’Neill, the final card I needed for the 1989 Bowman Reds set. It’s nice to have this card finally, after purchasing a wax box of 1989 Bowman and coming up short a few months ago.

This made me wonder what other sets from the 1980s I’m one card away from completing.

1983 Topps – #101 Pete Rose Super Veteran
1984 Fleer – #640 Johnny Bench/Carl Yastrzemski Super Star Special
1987 Donruss – #433 Eddie Milner
1987 O-Pee-Chee – #305 John Franco
1988 Fleer – #627 John Franco/Steve Bedrosian Super Star Special
1988 Topps Traded – #92T Jose Rijo
1989 Upper Deck – #636 Herm Winningham error card

That’s just a quick scan of my 1980s Want List. I’m only 2 away from the 1989 Score set (Ron Oester and Jeff Reed are eluding me), and only a few away from several other sets.

Thanks for helping me complete that 1989 Bowman team set, Greg, and thanks for the 2013 cards too! They’ve all been marked off my want lists!

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on September 17, 2013, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Happy to finish off a set for you. Might have to check to see if I have any of the others.

  2. I’ll have a look for the ’89 Score Oester and Reed cards for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

