Fun Cards: 2013 Topps Dave Concepcion

2013 Topps Concepcion

It’s easy to fill requests when I already have the card made. Someone commented on my George Foster post that they hoped to see Dave Concepcion in the 2013 Topps style; it just so happens that I had already made the card and was planning to post it this week.

I’ve been working on a little project in my “spare time”*, ranking players using statistics and formulas based on those stats to see how they stack up to others who played the same position. I started with a list of all the shortstops in the Hall of Fame (22 in all), then added eight other players who were stars in their own right. While it is heavy on the offensive side of the ball, I did also factor in some defensive metrics to come up with the total score.

Obviously, playing for the Big Red Machine, Concepcion did not have as many opportunities to drive in runners as others may have, but I was still a bit disappointed with the result: Out of thirty shorstops ranked, Davey came in 20th. In my system, at least for shortstops, I would say that a final score of 200 or higher is Hall of Fame-worthy; Concepcion’s score was 182.32. Absolutely respectable, but just short of a ticket to Cooperstown.

Fourteen shortstops scored better than 200 in my system; three of them are non-Hall of Famers. Those three players are the still-active Derek Jeter (227.63), Alan Trammell (208.25) and Bill Dahlen (202.51); eleven Hall of Famers fell below the 200-point threshold. Dahlen’s score is especially impressive, as he was a turn-of-the-century ballplayer, playing from 1891-1911, and is perhaps the greatest oversight in the history of the Hall.

The top scorer racked up 314.26 points, the only one at shortstop to exceed 300, and it wasn’t Honus Wagner (who I had always assumed was the greatest shortstop ever). Anyone care to take a guess at the best shortstop in history?

I’ll post the final rankings of each position when I get them all finalized; I’m still trying to figure out the best way to score pitchers (especially relievers).

* “Spare time” refers to time that should be spent doing something else, but I choose to goof off with baseball statistics instead.

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on February 27, 2013, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    • Nope, Arky didn’t even reach 200 points.

      I was surprised at who the top SS was, but most people probably won’t be. I had always assumed this player was a bit overrated because of one particular accomplishment, but as I plugged in the statistics, it became clear that he was much better than I ever gave him credit for.

  1. I’ve never been a fan of Cal, but his stats just scream too loudly. Like I said, I always just assumed he was overrated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

