2012 Redsfest: Jack Billingham

Billingham Redsfest

Big Red Machine pitcher Jack Billingham was the first of the Reds alumni autographs we received on Saturday.

1973 Topps

This is my first Billingham autograph. I love getting cards from the 1970s signed. The signature always make them look better. What was really interesting about this 1973 card was the back…

Billingham related to Mathewson

So, is it true? Is Billingham really related to Christy Mathewson? I asked him about that tidbit, and he said, “My grandmother told me that once, but I had no way of really knowing. I told someone else, and it they used it ever since.”

1978 Topps

OK, what I said about the signature making the card look better? I guess that’s not always the case. Not sure what the problem was here, maybe the Sharpie was going bad?

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on December 13, 2012, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

