Another five bite the dust

I took advantage of the Black Friday free shipping deal on COMC last week and filled in five more slots in my Kurt Stillwell binder…

Starting Lineup Stillwell

1988 Starting Lineup Talking Baseball – I already had this card, but it’s in the Reds binder as a part of the team set. My rules are very easy for me to understand when deciding whether a card is counted toward my Reds binder or my Stillwell binder…if it’s a part of a team set, it goes in the Reds binder. Eventually, I plan to have two of every Stillwell card that shows him in a Reds uniform.

Royals Smokey cards

1988 Royals Smokey – This is one of those regional issues that I never thought I would own because the eBay prices are through-the-roof. I can’t remember what I paid for this, but it wasn’t the $5 that is often seen on eBay.

OPeeChee

1990 O-Pee-Chee – I was worried about this one. I was burnt on a Griffey a few years ago on eBay; I should have asked to see the reverse print. I did get a refund on that one. Fortunately, COMC shows you the front and back of the card, so I saw that there was a difference from the regular Topps issue. Now the question is, do I put it in the binder backwards?

Score Traded

1992 Score Rookie/Traded – One of the few “common” cards left on the list price-wise. I realize that none of the remaining cards will break the bank, but it’s still nice to find one that costs less than a quarter.

1994 minor league

1994 Fleer/Pro Cards – I had not realized Fleer got into the minor leagues until I put this list together. I still need Stillwell’s 1995 Fleer/Pro Cards issue; in fact, I’ve never even seen a picture of that particular card. But the 1994 card is now mine.

Here is my updated wantlist (only 20 to go!) for Kurt Stillwell cards:

  • 1987 Reds Kahn’s Kurt Stillwell 11
  • 1988 Royals Team Issue Kurt Stillwell 31
  • 1989 Cedar Rapids Reds All-Decade Best Kurt Stillwell 6
  • 1989 Kenner Starting Lineup Cards Kurt Stillwell 140 (figure and/or card)
  • 1989 Royals Tastee Discs Kurt Stillwell 8
  • 1989 Score Young Superstars II Kurt Stillwell 42
  • 1989 Topps Stickers Kurt Stillwell 266
  • 1990 MLBPA Baseball Buttons (Pins) Kurt Stillwell 106
  • 1990 Royals Postcards Kurt Stillwell 24
  • 1990 Topps Stickers Kurt Stillwell 269
  • 1991 Donruss Super DK’s Kurt Stillwell 24
  • 1991 O-Pee-Chee Kurt Stillwell 478
  • 1991 Red Foley Stickers Kurt Stillwell 91
  • 1992 Padres Mother’s Kurt Stillwell 5
  • 1992 Padres Police DARE Kurt Stillwell 23
  • 1992 Padres Smokey Kurt Stillwell 34
  • 1994 Topps Spanish Kurt Stillwell 198
  • 1995 Indianapolis Indians Fleer/ProCards Kurt Stillwell 104
  • 1996 Rangers Dr Pepper Kurt Stillwell 32
  • 1996 Rangers Mother’s Kurt Stillwell 22
About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on December 1, 2012, in baseball, baseball cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cool project. It’s neat to have something doable, but at the same time not easy to finish.

  2. I have an extra button if you need one. I also have a black and white 3X5 Royals card given out during the Royals Caravan around 1990-91. It is autographed but I have extras. I am needing some of his harder ones to find, Starting Lineup, Texas Gold, Broders, Mother’s Cookies, Indianapolis Indians, etc. Thanks.
    Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

