Mega Millions Reds

three rich guys

Joey Votto is signed through 2023 for a total of $263 million (plus a $20 million team option for 2024). Jay Bruce is signed through 2016 for $51 million (plus a $13 million team option for 2017). Today, Brandon Phillips signed on to stay with the Redlegs through 2017 to the tune of $72.5 million.

I can’t help but wonder where all that money is going to come from. I don’t pay a lot to go to the games, usually opting for the inexpensive bleacher seats to “non-premium” matchups. I buy the $1 hot dogs and take my own drinks into the stadium with me. We usually try to spend less than $50-60 for the four of us at a game…and even that is a treat.

But now, with the three biggest stars locked up long-term, I worry about the dollar hot dogs and the ability to bring my own drinks. I worry about the price of bleacher seats.

Am I just being cynical? Shouldn’t I be happy that the Reds are willing to spend massive amounts of money on talent?

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on April 10, 2012, in baseball and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers

