I missed Rocklahoma

But I won’t miss this “low dough” show on Sunday in Louisville…

Faster Pussycat and L.A. Guns

I think this is Taime’s industrial version of FP, and the Tracii Guns version of L.A. Guns. While I am more of a fan of the classic FP sound, I wasn’t totally turned off by their last album, The Power and the Gloryhole. It has the industrial sound, but still enough rock to satisfy me. Plus the cover of “These Boots Are Made For Walking” makes me break out in a hysterical fit every time I hear it.

As for L.A. Guns, I’ve only seen the Phil Lewis/Steve Riley version of this band as far as I can remember (and I had to do some hard thinking before I even remembered that). Videos have popped up of Phil Lewis/Steve Riley’s group on Hard Rock Hideout, and the Tracii Guns group (with former RockStar INXS contestant Marty Casey on vocals) was at Rocklahoma (videos of several of the bands’ performances, including two L.A. Guns songs, can be seen at Sleaze Roxx).

Bang Tango is a different animal altogether. I like their album Psycho Cafe, but had trouble getting into their music past that. High4 is a new band from Ohio, and it’s cool that these classic bands have taken them along for the ride. From what I hear on their Myspace page, they aren’t bad at all.

I’m looking forward to this show…especially at only $15. I only wish it could be closer than Louisville so I could save some money at the pumps.

About JT

Music lover, occasional writer, wishing he had immeasurable wealth so he didn't have to work a "real job."

Posted on July 17, 2008, in music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 418 other followers

